Friday, April 27, 2012

EFYE April 27/12

This week Oggie James brings the heat with a summer feel. Sebastien Leger always sports a warm bouncy feel, Boy 8-Bit's Tropical Heat continues with the almost jungle feel, where we dive right into the much anticipated and hyped track from Major Lazer, Get Free. You can get Get Free for free from his website as well as Bonde Do Role's remix of it. Things are then changed up when Oggie goes for a deeper and perhaps more complex sound with Caribou's sultry remix of Radiohead's Little By Little; followed up closely with another Canadian talent, The French Nobility and So Cynical. This leads perfectly into the dead heavy bass sound with is signature to France's Gesaffelstein, with, his partner on the Bromance tour, Brodinski on the remix.

 Keeping things heavy and processed we move to Fake Blood's classic remix of his own band, The Black Ghosts. Perhaps his best remix, production wise, although stay tuned in the coming weeks to hear contenders for that title. Staying on the remix wagon, we find ourselves in the middle of A-Trak's magical and jacking remix of Boys Noize's Oh! Once you thought the endless list of remixes was over Oggie hits in the heart of the ears with amazing Canadian talent Peaches and her take on LadyHawke's Paris Is Burning

After the break, the dust of the remix explosion has settled and you are drawn to the serene yet haunting beauty of Robert Smith's vocals on Crystal Castles' Not In Love, perhaps how it was meant to sound with the vocals reminiscent of the time the original was written by Platinum Blonde right across Lake Ontario in Toronto almost 30 years before in 1983. Keeping with the Canadian content is Jacques Greene perfecting Katy B's vocals in his remix of Broken Record. Closing things out, winding things down and yet clearly still keeping a dance-able groove rhythm the set closes out with Erol Alkan's  very funky rework of Forever Dolphin Love and Tiga's remix of the fantastic lyrically telling James Murphy created I Can Change. Tune in next week same place, same time for more Enlightenment For Your Ears.  

Tracklist for show original air date: April 27/2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Sebastien Leger - Seaweed/Sunset/Snapshot (Mistakes)
    • Seaweed
  • Boy 8-Bit - Tropical Heat (K7)
    • Tropical Heat
  • Major Lazer - Get Free (Independent Artist Release)
    • Get Free (feat. Amber of Dirty Projectors)
  • Radiohead - Little By Little (Ticker Tape)
    • Little By Little (Caribou Remix) cc
  • The French Nobility - The Royal Standard (Unsigned)
    • So Cynical cc
  • Gesaffelstein - Conspiracy Remixes (Turbo)
    • Viol (Brodinski Remix)
  • The Black Ghosts - Anyway You Choose To Give It (Southern Fried)
    • Anyway You Choose To Give It (Fake Blood Remix)
  • Boys Noize - Focus On: BNR (Boysnoize)
    • Oh! (A-trak Remix) cc
  • LadyHawke -  Paris Is Burning (Universal/Island)
    • Paris Is Burning (Peaches Remix) cc
  • Crystal Castles - II (Fiction)
    • Not In Love (feat. Robert Smith of The Cure) cc
  • Katy B - Broken Record (Rinse/Columbia)
    • Broken Record (Jacques Greene Remix) cc
  • LCD Soundsystem - I Can Change (Virgin)
    • I Can Change (Tiga Remix) cc
  • Connan Mockasin - Forever Dolphin Love (Phantasy)
    • Forever Dolphin Love (Erol Alkan Rework)
cc : canadian content
Next show air date: May 4/2012 6-7 PM

Friday, April 20, 2012

EFYE April 20/12

Tracklist for show original air date: April 20/2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • The 2 Bears - Be Strong (DFA)
    • Get Together
  • Azari & III - Manic (Turbo)
    • Manic (The Finger Prince Static Situation Remix) cc
  • Burns & Fred Falke - You Stopped Loving Me [Y.S.L.M.] (Destruction)
    • Y.S.L.M. (Rynecologist Remix) cc
  • Martin Solveig - The Night Out (Mixture)
    • The Night Out (A-Trak Remix) cc
  • Erol Alkan & Boys Noize - Roland Rat/Brain Storm (BNR)
    • Roland Rat
  • Fake Blood - Deep Red (Blood Music)
    • Voices
  • Boy 8-Bit - The Keep (This Is Music)
    • Wolfen (Jokers Of The Scene Remix) cc
  • The French Nobility - The Royal Standard (Unsigned)
    • So Cynical cc
  • Chromeo - Hot Mess (Turbo)
    • Hot Mess (Djedjotronic Remix 1)
  • Alex Metric - Ammunition EP (independent release)
    •  Rave Weapon
  • Cajmere - Percolator [Special Edition] (Not On Label)
    • Percolator (Dada Life Guerilla Fart #11)
cc : canadian content
Next show air date: April 27/2012 6-7 PM

Friday, April 13, 2012

EFYE April 13/2012

This week Oggie James has some special gems including a world exclusive from The French Nobility as well as a special mashup minimix from the Bordie Bros. Not to mention the massive tracks they are surrounded by. Hope you enjoy.
Tracklist for show original air date: April 13/2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Boys Noize - Kontact Me Remixes (BNR)
    • Kontact Me (Rynecolgist Turbine Remix) cc
  • Congorock - Ivory (Ultra)
    • Ivory
  • Style Of Eye - Wet/Dry (Sound Pellegrino)
    • Dry
  • The Hacker - Shockwave (Different)
    • Shockwave (Gesaffelstein Remix)
  • Jacques Greene - Concealer (Vase)
    • Arrow (feat. Koreless) cc
  • The French Nobility - The Royal Standard (Unsigned)
    • So Cynical cc
  • Jokers Of The Scene - JOT5 (Fool's Gold)
    • Organized Zounds cc
  • Pleasurekraft - Tarantula (Eklektisch)
    • Tarantula
  • La Roux -  Quicksand (Polydor)
    • Quicksand (Boy 8-Bit Remix)
  • Feed Me - Feed Me's Big Adventure (mau5trap)
    • Talk To Me
  • Bordie Bros. - Mashups (Unsigned)
    • The Chainsaw Antidote Realm cc
cc : canadian content
Next show air date: April 20/2012 6-7 PM

Thursday, April 12, 2012

April 6/2012

Apologies to those who tuned in expecting to hear EFYE last Friday. Being a hectic week in finishing up the semester's classes, CFBU experienced a leak in the on air room adding to the week of craziness and thus the show could not go on. But be assured Oggie James will be back with a vengeance tomorrow evening (April 13th) at 6PM sharp!

This week Oggie has some special treats including a world exclusive, and first radio run from The French Nobility, and the a-side of his new EP The Royal Standard. More Rynecologist, Boys Noize, Gesaffelstein, Congorock, Boy 8-Bit and Carte Blanche.