Saturday, October 27, 2012

Origin of EDM

As show-runner for Enlightenment For Your Ears, I've become accustom to using the phrase Electronic Dance Music (EDM) to describe what, for years before, could only be terms techno. The phrase EDM has ballooned and become the synonymous term associated with techno music. It's use has especially seen such widespread use in North America, the true creators of techno and deejay-ed music. The first man to cue and mix multiple records, and therefore be deserving of the title DJ, was Ray Newby in California , in 1909. That's right, we, North Americans, are responsible for the creation of techno music and deejaying, however, as has become the case throughout history, the cultural hotbed that is Europe took over and has begun to sell us back our DJs and our techno music. Europe has be able to go as far as convincing us that our techno and deejay-ed music must be imported, despite our creation. As has become the norm, the Europeans have found a way to make techno their own.

In 2008, eleven years after the original DJ Mag Top 100 Armin Van Buuren won for a second time, and the culture and semantics of techno music would change forever. Notable French DJ Sebastien Leger used the term Electronic Dance Music to describe his style, he pledged to step away from the electro-house with which he was associated. "Electro-house has almost become an insult for me because there's so many cheesy records," he says. "I want to make it impossible to predict what I'm going to do next." This all comes from a place deep inside Seb Leger, a confirmed hater of flippant French donkey David Guetta, who only last year reached the top spot of the DJ Mag Top 100. This year has been monumental in terms of the backlash in response to the voting and placement of this years DJ Mag Top 100. In the 16 years of voting, there have been only eight winners, with AVB winning five, Tiesto taking three, and both Pauls, Oakenfold and Van Dyk taking two each. Single winners Carl Cox, Sasha, John Digweed, and the aforementioned greasy Guetta. The backlash from DJs and fans alike show the disdain for these DJs and the plain fact that AVB can win his fifth title, while the list of 100 is nearly impossible to crack without morally reprehensible actions such as SHM and pandering for votes. The reality is we are here/hear for the art that is EDM, a term coined by virtuoso Sebastien Leger, back in 2008.

Read more here:
Seb Leger Facebook post
Brief history of DJing
DJ Mag Top 100 - Past Winners
Electronic Dance Music

Friday, October 26, 2012

EFYE - Oct. 26, 2012

Tracklist for show original air date: Oct. 26, 2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Jokers Of The Scene - Killing Joke (Independent)
    • Killing Joke (Mickey Moonlight Remix) cc
  • John Roman - Monitor (Bad Life)
    • Fragments cc
  • Ron Hardy - Erol Alkan: Another "Bugged Out" Mix (K7)
    • Sensation (Obi Blanche Edit)
  • Jacques Greene - Ready EP (3024)
    • Ready cc
  • Project 46 - Limitless (Monstercat)
    • Limitless cc
  • Nom De Strip & Hot Mouth - Wear The Trousers (Independent)
    • Wear The Trousers cc
  • Murlo - Wineyard EP (Independent)
    • At The Knees
  • Boy 8-Bit - Madrigal (This Is Music)
    • Phase IV
  • Netsky - 2 (Hospital)
    • Wanna Die For You (f Diane Charlemagne)
  • Aphex Twin - Flim (Independent)
    • Flim (Clouds' Flim-sy Premise Remix)
  • Flosstradamus - Fool's Gold Clubhouse Vol 2 (Fool's Gold)
    • Roll Up (Baauer Remix)
  • TAI - Lose Yourself (Independent)
    • Lose Yourself (Craig Williams Remix)
  • Tiger Stripes - Wax Motif & Neoteric Pres. Strictly Rhythm Vol 9 (Strictly Rhythm)
    • Snake Charmer (Botnek Remix) cc
  • Diplo - Express Yourself (Mad Decent)
    • Express Yourself (f Nicky Da B)
  • Lady Sovereign  - Jigsaw (Love-Da-Records)
    • I Got You Dancing (Jack Beats Remix) 
Next show air date: Nov. 2, 2012 6-7 PM

Friday, October 19, 2012

EFYE - Oct. 19, 2012

Tracklist for show original air date: Oct. 19, 2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Peaches - Burst! (BNR)
    • Burst! (Bart B More Remix) cc
  • Proxy - Shut Up! (Dim Mak)
    • Shut Up! (John Roman Remix) cc
  • Duck Sauce - Big Bad Wolf (Big Beat)
    • Big Bad Wolf cc
  • The 2 Bears - Be Strong (DFA)
    • Work
  • Jacques Greene - Night Slugs Allstars Vol. 1(Night Slugs)
    • (Baby I Don't Know) What You Want cc
  • ZZT - Vulkan Alarm! (Turbo)
    • Vulkan Alarm! cc
  • Donovans - Rise & Fall (Turbo)
    • Rise & Fall
  • Nom De Strip, Hatiras - Saucy (Hatrax)
    • Saucy cc
  • Congorock - Babylon (Fool's Gold)
    • Babylon
  • Wolfgang Gartner - Space Junk (Ultra)
    • Space Junk
  • Chew Lips - Karen (Family)
    • Karen (Netsky Remix)
  • Baauer - Jeffree's Vol. 3 (Mad Decent)
    • Harlem Shake
  • South Rakkas Crew - Mad Again f New Kidz (Mad Decent)
    • Mad Again (Fake Blood Remix)
  • Flosstradamus - X1 (Independent)
    • Drak Knight
  • The Loose Cannons - Girls In Hats (Fat Fox)
    • Girls In Hats (Boy 8-Bit's Linndrum Workout)
Next show air date: Oct. 26, 2012 6-7 PM

EFYE - Oct. 12, 2012

Tracklist for show original air date: Oct. 12, 2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Netsky - (Hospital)
    • Come Alive
  • Kate Bush - Running Up That Hill (Independent)
    • Running Up That Hill (Louis La Roche Remix)
  • The French Nobility - The Royal Standard (Independent)
    • So Cynical cc
  • Baauer - Dum Dum (LuckyMe)
    • Dum Dum
  • Jacques Lu Cont - Church (Independent)
    • Church
  • Mike Mago - Bloem & Plant (BMKLTSCH)
    • Plant (Keatch Remix)
  • Zedd - Spectrum f Matthew Koma (Interscope)
    • Spectrum (Congorock Remix)
  • Surkin - USA Club Mixes (Marble)
    • Never Let Go [f Kevin Irving] (A-Trak Remix) cc
  • Fake Blood - Yes / No (Different)
    • Bionic
  • Friendly Fires - Blue Cassette (XL)
    • Blue Cassette (Tiga Remix) cc
  • Chromeo - Don't Turn The Lights On (Turbo)
    • Don't Turn The Lights On (Carte Blanche Late Nite Mix) cc
  • Crookers - Hummus (Mad Decent)
    • Hummus (Botnek Remix) cc
  • Dimitri Vegas, Like Mike, Regi - Momentum (Smash The House)
    • Momentum (Clockwork Remix)
  • Autoerotique - Bubonic (Dim Mak)
    • Bubonic cc
  • Boy 8-Bit - Still Killing (Mad Decent)
    • Cricket Scores (Boy 8-Bit's It's Not Cricket Remix)
Next show air date: Oct. 19, 2012 6-7 PM

Friday, October 05, 2012

EFYE October 5, 2012

Tracklist for show original air date: Oct. 5, 2012 from 18:00 to 19:00.
  • Tony Senghore - Go Tigers (Midnight Munchies)
    • Go Tigers (Style Of Eye Remix)
  • St. Mandrew - ERROR 404 (Teenage Riot)
    • Shockwave (Autoerotique Remix) cc
  • Nom De Strip, Peo De Pitte - Big Knobbler (Rising)
    • Big Knobbler cc
  • Burns - Lies (Deconstruction)
    • Lies (Tiga Remix) cc
  • Savage Skulls - No. 1 Spot Remixes (Enchufada)
    • Lorimer (Botnek Remix) cc
  • Sub Focus - Falling Down f Kenzie May (OWSLA)
    • Falling Down
  • Sound Of Stereo - Mineral: The Remixes (Lektroluv)
    • Quartz (John Roman Remix) cc
  • Devil's Gun - Gold Dust (Eat Electric)
    • Gold Dust (Boy 8-Bit Remix)
  • Fake Blood - Yes / No (Different)
    • Yes / No
  • Foo Fighters - Everlong (Independent)
    • Everlong (Louis La Roche Rework)
  • Netsky - (Hospital)
    • No Beginning
  • Lexy & K-Paul - Happy Zombies (Low Spirit)
    • Happy Zombies (Paul Kalkbrenner Remix)
  • Haddaway - What Is Love? [Project 46 Remix] (Razor & Tie)
    • What Is Love (Project 46 Remix) cc
  • Jack Beats - Out Of Body (Independent)
    • Out Of Body (Dead Commies Remix)
  • Major Lazer - Original Don (Independent)
    • Original Don (Flosstradamus Remix)
Next show air date: Oct. 12, 2012 6-7 PM